Central High School 1910

5728 Highway 58 Harrison Bay,
TN 37341
(423) 344-1447

Central High School Champion 1937


Senior Class

Images Courtesy of Claudia O'Leary


  Senior Officers  







PAGE 35   PAGE 36   PAGE 37   PAGE 38   PAGE 39
PAGE 40   PAGE 41            
 On a never-to-be-forgotten day in the fall of 1933, a stream of inexperienced little travelers, high with hopes and full of prophetic dreams of future glory and honor, approached what seemed to them a dark, dense forest. To those familiar with Scott's "Lady of the Lake," we could well have been, "A narrow inlet, still and deep, Despite our inexperience and shyness, we were not entirely lost, for we soon organized and chose these excellent leaders to force our passage: Carl Johnston, president; Billy Daggett, vice-president; Kathryn Brown, secretary; and Fred Hetzler, treasurer. When we again appeared 'twas autumn, 1934; then, "Tall rocks and tufted knolls their face Could on the dark-blue mirror trace." Those who looked therein saw our leaders: Carl Johnston, president; Billy Daggett, vice-president; Virginia Dearing, secretary; and Roy Baskett, treasurer. Others rising from the stream and reflecting their images therein were our outstanding athletes: Jack Pinion, Dick Bates and Emmett Mallett. By September, 1935, this stream of ours; "Still broader sweep its channels made. The shaggy mounds no longer stood, Emerging from entangled wood, But, wave-encircled seemed to float, Like castle girded with its moat." In keeping with Scott's picture of the growth of this stream, more and more of our number became strong, clear-cut personalities, embracing larger activities in a more ambitious way. Among those thus distinguished were: Roy Scruggs, president; Carl Johnston, vice-president; Anna Marie Peckinpaugh, secretary; and Fred Hetzler, treasurer. Others were June Smith and F. B. Taylor who insured the success of our play, "Girl Shy." Lords of the Dominion of Athletics were: Billie O'Brien, Roy Scruggs, Dick Bates, George Bridgers, Bob Demos and Fletcher Jolly. The autumnal rays of 1936 gleamed upon the yet broader floods of this once narrow stream, and floating thereupon as "burnished sheets of living gold" were such leaders in offices "as: Roy Scruggs, class president; Fred Hetzler, vice-president; Billie O'Brien, secretary; Harold Robinson, treasurer; Carl Johnston and Jean Sanders, sergeants-at-arms; Aline Smith, president of the "Girl's Hi-Y"; Jean Sanders and Archie Lawrence, president and vice-president, respectively, of the "Boy's Hi-Y" ; Thurman Hall, president of the "Senate"; and Newell Henry, captain of the football team. Floating "amid the livelier light" were such athletic giants as: George Bridgers, Dexter Hodges, Hal Lamb, Billy O'Brien, Roy Scruggs, Albert Muerth, Emmett Mallett, W. C. Wheat, Dick Bates and Fletcher Jolly. A stranger might have exclaimed: "What a scene were here, for princely pomp!" as he watched June Smith, Thurman Hall, George Bridgers, Gwendolyn Kernon and others, as they displayed their dramatic ability in "Once in a Palace." A band of hardy nobility guarded each his castle for the school publication, the Digest. Among these were: Frances Camp, editor-in-chief; Vivian Davis, associate editor; Elizabeth Redford, club editor; Adrienne Duclos, feature editor; Nora Allison Barker, exchange editor; Archie Lawrence, military editor; June Smith, departmental editor; and Mary Jane Maupin, copy reader. A stroller along our stream might exclaim: "How sweet at eve the lover's lute chimes," or "How solemn on the ear come yonder holy matins' distant hum." Chief among our musicians were: Dorothy Bowen, Robert Cooper, Paul Ingle and Harry Witt. For the period of one week had this stroller gazed into our stream when the sun was high, he would have found groups of seniors assembled at "Friendly feast and lighted hall" where they enjoyed stories faculty travelers told. "With bugle, lute, and bell, and all," the makers of THE CHAMPION regale the weary traveler. Those who stood in this capacity were: Elizabeth Redford, editor-in-chief; F. B. Taylor, business manager; Juanita Nabors, senior section editor; Harold Lamb, sports editor; T. J. Quarles, club editor; Marguerite Granert, photographic editor; Mary Anne Buck, feature editor; Iley Thompson, military editor; and Aline Smith, typist. Among us, hermits in cloister gray who established a lasting record of merit are these three-year honor students: Nora Allison Barker, Mary Anne Buck, Elis Butler, Frances Camp, Regina Craven, Vivian Davis, Adrienne Duclos, Myrtie Mae Erwin, Darwin Harold, Mary Hugh Haines, Beryl Healy, Virginia Hennessee, Betty L'Heureux, Iva McDonald, Hannah Marlowe, Mary Jane Maupin, Anna Marie Peckinpaugh, Howard Norton Pratt, T. J. Quarles, Elizabeth Redford, Jean Reynolds, La Verne Roberts, Russell Tarver, Frank Taylor. Other hermits were: Ophelia Setliffe who won the city-wide essay contest on Charles Dickens; Antoinette Barlach who was awarded the grand prize in the statewide essay contest on "What Conservation Means to Me," and Jean Reynolds who won first place at Central in the essay contest which was sponsored by the Gorgas Foundation. So broad were the sweeps the channels of our stream had made, "shaggy mounds were now divided from their parent hill till each retiring claimed to be an inlet in an island sea"; these were our Class Day representatives and Commencement speakers chosen as follows: Frank Taylor, Beryl Healy, Thurman Hall, Anna Marie Peckinpaugh, Nora Allison Barker, Frances Camp, Billy O'Brien, and Adrienne Duclos. And now in May of the year 1937 we who were once a narrow inlet, still and deep, in broad stream flow into Loch Katrine, where islands empurpled bright, Float "amid the livelier light," And mountains like giants stand To sentinel to enchanted land". Our new fields of life's endeavor. JUANITA NABORS.